September 21, 2017

Gregory Fuerst, a member of the Roger Wise’s Lab, was selected as the 2017 Midwest Area Award Recipient in the Scientific Support category "for exceptional scientific support and contributions to the ARS research programs".

September 21, 2017

Dr. Allen Miller and Dr. Steve Whitham received a four-year multi-institutional grant ($10.3 million) funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).

September 19, 2017

To help farmers and agronomists identify, scout, and manage corn diseases a new Corn Diseases booklet, published by Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, is now available to crop producers and industry professionals. 

September 15, 2017

By Lina Rodriguez Salamanca and Laura Jesse Iles, Plant & Insect Diagnostic Clinic

The following are highlights and updates about samples and questions recently received in the Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic. Visit the PIDC's Facebook page for updates and more pictures. For more information on a particular disease or insect problem listed, follow the article (hyperlink) cited.

September 14, 2017

As the 2017 growing season winds down, ISU Extension and Outreach field agronomists share how the crops are progressing and finishing out the season in their repressive regions across the state.

September 14, 2017

In early September, some fields had some pretty high numbers (plants with over 1,000 aphids!). Generally, aphids were concentrated around the ear, but could be found throughout the plant  more

August 22, 2017

W. Allen Miller and Steve Whitham, are contributing to a multi-institutional effort funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

August 01, 2017

Drs. Leonor Leandro, Larry Halverson, Gwyn Beattie, and Matt Liebman received a new grant from NIFAAFRI-
foundational Knowledge of Agricultural Production Systems on April 1, 2017. 

Dr. Nancy Boury received a 3-year (2017-2020) grant of $182,812 from NSF Division of Undergraduate Education program (DUE). DUE's programs are intended to strengthen STEM education at two- and four-year colleges and universities by improving curricula, instruction, laboratories, infrastructure, assessment, diversity of students and faculty, and collaborations.


August 01, 2017

Dr. Roger Wise presented one of his latest research papers in San Diego, California and Michigan State University.

June 30, 2017

Andrew James Joshua Nathan Valeria Velazquez

Welcome Andrew James Penney, Joshua Nathan Viggers, Katerina Louise Holan, and Valeria Velazquez Zapata!

June 30, 2017

Congratulations to Mauricio Serrano, Lauren Washington and Priyanka Surana

June 09, 2017

The Crop Management Clinic will be offered on July 13, 2017 at the Field Extension Education Laboratory (FEEL) west of Ames, Iowa. ...more

June 09, 2017

The Field Diagnostic Clinic will be offered on July 12, 2017 at the Field Extension Education Laboratory (FEEL) outside of Ames. ...more


May 24, 2017

Yesterday the Plant Pathology Graduate Student Organization hosted a Summer Kickoff Breakfast for all departmental members for their third year in a row. This year was potluck style with an emphasis on multicultural dishes. Lets hope after its third year this event sticks around because we love food. 

May 17, 2017

In an effort to streamline processes, the Iowa State University Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic has updated and simplified submission forms for receiving requests for diagnosis for plant problems and insect, plant or mushroom identification.

April 11, 2017

ISU researchers are piecing together the genetic mechanisms that link plant growth and stress response. In a new paper, the research group links autophagy, an important energy recycling function, with slower growth during stress conditions. Autophagy plays a key role in animals as well as plants.

November 17, 2016

The apple-pumpkin bake off is one of our department's most anticipated events of the year, and boy did this year live up to the hype!


October 19, 2016

SourceIntegrated Crop Management News, and Iowa State University Extension and Outreach

Recently, the Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic received samples of corn leaves with symptoms of tar spot from Jones County in eastern Iowa.

October 12, 2016

Dr. Steve Whitham, and his team of researchers, recently published findings in PLOS pathogens on how the soybean rust fungus interacts with the soybean plant to suppress immunity: "A Small Cysteine-Rich Protein from the Asian Soybean Rust Fungus, Phakopsora pachyrhizi, Suppresses Plant Immunity"

July 15, 2016

In the past 6 months, Dr. Mark Gleason has twice traveled to Belegrade, Serbia to deliver accelerated professional skills courses to the Faculty of Agriculture at the University of Belegrade, Serbia. In November of 2015, Dr. Gleason delivered an accelerated course on professional speaking skills, similar to PLP 590 he teaches here at Iowa State. More recently, in May of 2016, Dr. Gleason spent two weeks providing a short-course on research ethics, based on the GR ST 565 class he teaches here at ISU.

June 27, 2016

So far, this growing season has been relatively quiet on the crop disease front, likely due to the mild weather this spring has brought us....

June 24, 2016

The first generation of soybean cyst nematode (SCN) females is now visible on the roots of soybeans growing in SCN-infested fields in Iowa.....
Source: ICM News

June 24, 2016

Dr Gary Munkvold was recently elected as councilor-at-large with the American Phytopathological Society (APS).

Source: 2016 APS election results.pdf


Subscribe to News