Baum to Receive This Year’s Noel T. Keen Award for Research Excellence from APS

May 26, 2015

Thomas Baum, chair of the Department of Plant Pathology and Microbiology, is this year’s recipient of the Noel T. Keen Award for Research Excellence in Molecular Plant Pathology from the American Phytopathological Society. The award recognizes scientists who have made outstanding contributions and demonstrated sustained excellence and leadership in research. Baum was cited for pioneering contributions that have greatly advanced the understanding and knowledge of the molecular interactions of nematodes with host plants. The Keen Award is the second major research honor Baum has received from APS. In 2006, Baum was the recipient of the APS Ruth Allen Award, which honors scientists who have made innovative research contributions that have changed the direction of plant pathology research. The Keen Award is named in memory of Noel T. Keen, a Marshalltown, Iowa, native who earned his bachelor’s and master’s degrees at Iowa State University and became a distinguished professor of plant pathology at University of California, Riverside.

News Type: