December 13, 2017

The November edition of the PLPM monthly newsletter is here. Enjoy reading!

December 10, 2017

The Soil and Plant Analysis Laboratory  at Iowa State University has announced that the lab will close effective December 31, 2017 after 35 years of soil, water and environmental testing services.  The last day to submit samples is December 15.  Updates regarding the laboratory will be posted on their website.

December 10, 2017

This was a year of spruce! Our most common diagnoses for spruce in 2017 were Stigmina needle blight, Rhizosphaera needle cast, Sudden needle drop, Spruce spider mite, Spruce bud scale and suspected environmental stress. 

November 30, 2017

Resolve to sign up for the full roster of APS webinars on offer in 2018! APS has worked with plant pathology experts to bring to you timely and useful information that you may put into practice in the field, lab, or classroom.

November 13, 2017
October 07, 2017

Over the past couple of weeks we’ve been doing stalk rot assessments at several of the ISU Research Farms including the Southeast Research and Demonstration Farm, the McNay Research Farm, and the Ames Farm. 

October 04, 2017

The following are highlights and updates about samples and questions recently received in the Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic

September 24, 2017

Congratulations to Dr. Mitch Elmore (right) for his success in the FY2016 Postdoctoral Fellowship Competition from the Agriculture and Food Research Initiative (AFRI) - Food, Agriculture, Natural Resources and Human Sciences Education and Literacy Initiative.

September 22, 2017

Congratulations to Priyanka Surana for her Research Excellence Award from the ISU Graduate College. Priyanka  graduated in Spring/Summer 2017 with a PhD in Bioinformatics and Computational Biology with a minor in Statistics under the direction of Roger Wise and Dan Nettleton.

September 21, 2017

Gregory Fuerst, a member of the Roger Wise’s Lab, was selected as the 2017 Midwest Area Award Recipient in the Scientific Support category "for exceptional scientific support and contributions to the ARS research programs".

September 21, 2017

Dr. Allen Miller and Dr. Steve Whitham received a four-year multi-institutional grant ($10.3 million) funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA).

September 19, 2017

To help farmers and agronomists identify, scout, and manage corn diseases a new Corn Diseases booklet, published by Iowa State University Extension and Outreach, is now available to crop producers and industry professionals. 

September 15, 2017

By Lina Rodriguez Salamanca and Laura Jesse Iles, Plant & Insect Diagnostic Clinic

The following are highlights and updates about samples and questions recently received in the Plant and Insect Diagnostic Clinic. Visit the PIDC's Facebook page for updates and more pictures. For more information on a particular disease or insect problem listed, follow the article (hyperlink) cited.

September 14, 2017

As the 2017 growing season winds down, ISU Extension and Outreach field agronomists share how the crops are progressing and finishing out the season in their repressive regions across the state.

September 14, 2017

In early September, some fields had some pretty high numbers (plants with over 1,000 aphids!). Generally, aphids were concentrated around the ear, but could be found throughout the plant  more

September 01, 2017

It's here! Take a look at our August-September 2018 Newsletter.
Be sure to visit our archives to view previous Months' newsletters

August 22, 2017

W. Allen Miller and Steve Whitham, are contributing to a multi-institutional effort funded by the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA)

August 01, 2017

Drs. Leonor Leandro, Larry Halverson, Gwyn Beattie, and Matt Liebman received a new grant from NIFAAFRI-
foundational Knowledge of Agricultural Production Systems on April 1, 2017. 

Dr. Nancy Boury received a 3-year (2017-2020) grant of $182,812 from NSF Division of Undergraduate Education program (DUE). DUE's programs are intended to strengthen STEM education at two- and four-year colleges and universities by improving curricula, instruction, laboratories, infrastructure, assessment, diversity of students and faculty, and collaborations.


August 01, 2017

Dr. Roger Wise presented one of his latest research papers in San Diego, California and Michigan State University.

June 30, 2017

Andrew James Joshua Nathan Valeria Velazquez

Welcome Andrew James Penney, Joshua Nathan Viggers, Katerina Louise Holan, and Valeria Velazquez Zapata!


Subscribe to News